• All Ability
  • What is all ability?
  • All Ability

    What is it?

    At Bikeworks we believe that cycling should be accessible and possible for everyone to enjoy.

    The Drop-in All Ability Cycling Clubs are designed for people with learning, physical and/or sensory disabilities to enjoy cycling on a range of adapted cycles, including single/tandem tricycles, side-by-side cycles for two or more people, wheelchair platform cycles and go-kart style recumbent cycles.

    The clubs are also a social and friendly place where you can meet the same people time after time.

    After being shown how to use the cycles by our friendly volunteers and staff, attendees are free to cycle around the park or green space  with their friends, family or carer.

    The clubs are suitable for almost everyone regardless of age, ability or experience level and they are free to access. Unfortunately we cannot cater for very young children due to the size of the cycles, with the youngest approximate age we can accommodate at the clubs being 5 years old. Parents, carers and support workers are encouraged to attend and ride with the people they are supporting. Those with complex needs must be accompanied by a parent, carer or support worker as the club instructors won’t be able to offer one-to-one support for individuals.

    The first time you arrive at a club you will need to register on our database- this usually takes less than one minute. Each time you come to the club after that we will look up your name on the database and add you to the session register.

    You will then choose the type of cycle that you want to ride – the friendly club instructors and volunteers will help you with this. You can then ride your cycle around the park/space provided. The instructors will ask you to come back after a fixed amount of time so that other attendees can have a turn, however if it’s a quiet session and nobody is waiting there is the possibility of riding for longer.

    At our drop-in clubs there is no requirement to book – you can simply turn up on the day to take part.

    If you are a group of 6+ please email all.ability@bikeworks.org.uk to find out the best time to arrive.

    Some clubs require booking – see the Where and When section below for details

    As part of the registration process we will take some basic personal details and you/your parent/carer/support worker will sign a (digital) consent form. The information we ask for is only what is required for safeguarding purposes or monitoring information which will be anonymised and sent to our funders.

    We have volunteering opportunities at the All Ability clubs where you can support a session in a variety of different ways under the supervision of qualified instructors. Some of these are by meeting and greeting attendees, logging attendees into our database, helping to prepare the cycles for the session, performing minor fixes on cycles, and helping to transport the cycles to and from our storage locations.

    To find out more visit our volunteering page!

    All of our clubs are in locations where there are toilets and a cafe nearby, apart from Bush Hill Park and Little Wormwood Scrubs Park which have toilets only, but no cafe.

    Where and when

    Support provided by:

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Support Provided by:

    We are in two locations on different days:

    Location 1: The Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park- we set up just outside the Lee Valley VeloPark on Abercrombie Road, E20 3AB.

    Time: Every Tuesday and Thursday from 10am-1:45pm.

    Upcoming Dates:

    • Tuesday 5th July
    • Thursday 7th July
    • Tuesday 12th July
    • Thursday 14th July
    • Tuesday 19th July
    • Thursday 21st July
    • Tuesday 26th July
    • Thursday  28th July
    • Tuesday 2nd August
    • Thursday 4th August
    • Tuesday 9th August
    • Thursday 11th August
    • Tuesday 16th August
    • Thursday 18th August
    • Tuesday 23rd August
    • Thursday 25th August
    • Tuesday 30th August

    Location 2: Central Park-  across the path from the Central Park Cafe, E6 3AJ.

    Time: Every Friday from 11am-1pm.

    Dates this month:

    • Friday 3rd June
    • Friday 10th June
    • Friday 17th June
    • Friday 24th June

    Support provided by:

    Location: Victoria Park- we set up at the Lock House Gate entrance to the Park where Parnell Road meets Jodrell Road, E3 2LA.

    Time: Every Wednesday from 9:30am-1:30pm and alternate Saturdays from 10am-12pm.

    Upcoming Dates:

    • Wednesday 6th July
    • Saturday 9th July
    • Wednesday 13th July
    • Wednesday 20th July
    • Saturday 23rd July
    • Wednesday 27th July
    • Wednesday 3rd August
    • Saturday 6th August
    • Wednesday 10th August
    • Wednesday 17th August
    • Saturday 20th August
    • Wednesday 24th August
    • Wednesday 31st August

    Support provided by:

    Location: Little Wormwood Scrubs Park- we set up at the Dalgarno Gardens entrance to the park where Dalgarno Gardens meets Brewster Gardens, W10 5LL.

    Time: Every Friday from 9:30am-1:30pm and alternate Saturdays from 11am-1pm.

    Upcoming Dates:

    • Friday 1st July
    • Saturday 2nd July
    • Friday 8th July
    • Friday 15th July
    • Saturday 16th July
    • Friday 22nd July
    • Friday 29th July
    • Saturday 30th July

    Support provided by:

    Location: Inwood Park- we set up at the main entrance to the park on Inwood Road, TW3 1XA. We are now running two sessions a week, starting from 9th May. 

    Saturday Club: This club is only for Hounslow residents and requires a booking to be made in advance to attend. To book a slot, please contact all.ability@bikeworks.org.uk or call 0208 980 7998 and dial option 3. 

    Time: Every Saturday from 10:30am-12:30pm.

    Upcoming Dates:

    • Saturday 2nd July
    • Saturday 9th July
    • Saturday 16th July
    • Saturday 23rd July
    • Saturday 30th July
    • Saturday 6th August
    • Saturday 13th August
    • Saturday 20th August
    • Saturday 27th August

    Monday Club:  The Monday clubs are drop-in with no need to book. To avoid disappointment Groups of 6+ are advised to email us beforehand to find out the best time to arrive all.ability@bikeworks.org.uk

    Time: Every Monday from 10:30am-12:30pm.

    Upcoming Dates:

    • Monday 4th July
    • Monday 11th July
    • Monday 18th July
    • Monday 25th July
    • Monday 1st August
    • Monday 8th August
    • Monday 15th August
    • Monday 22nd August
    • Monday 29th August

    Support provided by:

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Support Provided by:

    We are in two locations on different days:

    Location 1: Leyton Jubilee Park- we set up at the Marsh Lane entrance to the park, E10 7BL. 

    Time: Alternate Saturdays from 10am-12pm.

    Upcoming Dates:

    • Saturday  2nd July
    • Saturday  16th July
    • Saturday 30th July
    • Saturday 13th August
    • Saturday 27th August

    Location 2: Higham Hill Park- we set up at the Hetcham Close entrance to the park, E17 5PX. 

    Time: Alternate Saturdays from 10am-12pm.

    Dates this month:

    • Saturday 9th July
    • Saturday 23rd July
    • Saturday 6th August
    • Saturday 20th August

    Support provided by:

    Location: Bush Hill Park- we set up next to the Public Outdoor Gym in the park, closest entrance on Cecil Avenue, EN1 1PA. 

    Time: Every Monday from 10am-3pm.

    Upcoming Dates:

    • Monday 4th July
    • Monday 11th July
    • Monday 18th July
    • Monday 25th July
    • Monday 1st August
    • Monday 8th August
    • Monday 15th August
    • Monday 22nd August
    • Monday 29th August